## **ONLY RAIL!**

## PETITION REGARDING TRANSPORTATION OF COAL FROM RAVEN COAL MINE

**We, the Undersigned,** believe coal from the proposed Raven Coal Mine must be transported by no other means than railroad to its point of export.

We, the Undersigned, encourage consultations to be held between the Compliance Coal Corporation (the Proponent), the Island Corridor Foundation, Southern Rail of Vancouver Island, the Government of BC and other affected parties to rehabilitate and exclusively use the Island railway to transport coal from the mine production facility to its point of export.

**We, the Undersigned,** require the Proponent submit a modified Project Description to the BC EAO specifying rail as the sole transportation method for the project.

We, the Undersigned, call on the BC and Federal Environmental Assessment Offices to consider this project unacceptable if exported product is moved by truck due to increased highway congestion, public safety concerns, CO2 and smog emissions, and cost to taxpayers for maintenance of provincial and municipal roadways and to consider the extended environmental, social and economic benefits a revitalized Island Railroad would bring to residents and businesses on Vancouver Island.

INFO AND PETITIONS AT: WWW.NORAILNOCOAL.CA

## Once completed, all original signed petitions will be submitted to the British Columbia Environmental Assessment Office during the official Public Comment Period.

A COPY OF ALL SIGNED PETITIONS WILL BE SENT TO:

Compliance Coal Corporation

**Island Corridor Foundation** 

British Columbia Minister of Transportation

British Columbia Environmental Assessment Office

Government of Canada Environmental Assessment Office

Southern Railway of Vancouver Island

City of Parksville

City of Courtenay

City of Port Alberni

## Members of Legislative Assembly of BC:

Don McRae, BC Liberal Party, Comox Valley
Ron Cantelon, BC Liberal Party, Parksville-Qualicum
Scott Fraser, New Democratic Party of BC, Alberni-Pacific Rim
Leonard Krog, New Democratic Party of BC, Nanaimo
Doug Routley, New Democratic Party of BC, Nanaimo-North Cowichan
Members of Parliament of Canada:

John Duncan, Conservative Party of Canada, Vancouver Island North Dr. James Lunney, Conservative Party of Canada, Nanaimo-Alberni Jean Crowder, New Democratic Party of Canada, Nanaimo-Cowichan